Mazda Philippines Successfully Holds Round 1 of MSCC Miata Spec Series

The MSCC Miata Spec Series began its inaugural season at Clark International Speedway. On June 11, twenty race-ready Mazda MX-5s hit the track for Round 1 of the four-race series.

“This is a dream come true not just for us at Mazda Philippines, but for the Manila Sports Car Club (MSCC) as well,” shares Steven Tan, President and CEO of Mazda Philippines. “It was a long time coming, and it’s the result of our blood, sweat, and tears. It’s truly a passion project, and I’m glad that MSCC members were able to celebrate driving with the most-raced car in the world—the MX-5.”  

In the sweltering heat, Allan Uy in Car No. 99 won Race 1 with a 4.455-second margin over second-place Paul Henderson Perez in Car No. 77. The top three finishes were completed by Angie King in Car #12.

Check Lowest Car Parts 👈 

As the temperature fell significantly for Race 2, Uy once again dominated with a 2.047-second lead over King, who had to settle for second place. Juha Turalba finished third in Car No.8.

Uy also set the fastest time of the day, lapping the 4.189-kilometer Clark International Speedway in 2 minutes and 19.125 seconds at an average speed of 108.679 kilometers per hour.
Because all MSCC Miata Spec Series vehicles are identical, the ten-lap race is a true test of driving ability.

The MSCC Miata Spec Series MX-5 is powered by a factory-fresh 2.0-liter Skyactiv-G engine and a 6-speed Skyactiv manual transmission. The suspension components have been improved and reinforced with CUSCO sports coil-overs and chassis braces to extract even more grip.

Drift Xaust’s unique stainless steel exhaust system increases air flow and amplifies the strong racing note emanating from the MX-5’s 181-horsepower mill. Each car is outfitted with a Sparco competition steering wheel, racing seat, harness, and safety net, as well as a new CUSCO racing roll cage, to ensure the drivers’ control and safety. GT Radial Champiro SX2 tires mounted on unique 17 x 8.0 J Rota Strike wheels are standard on all Miata Spec Series vehicles.

Pilipinas Shell Petroleum Corporation, GT Radial tires, and Rota Wheels are sponsors of the MSCC Miata Spec Series. After Round 1, the remaining racing dates are August 27th (Race 3 and 4), October 22nd (Race 5 and 6), and November 26th (Race 5 and 6). (Race 7 and 8).

The Clark International Speedway will host all races.

Check Lowest Car Parts 👈


Tito Raffy

is Rafael Pedrajita offline. He is the founder of Tech Patrol. He's been a freelancer and a blogger since March of 2010. He married a beautiful woman named Amor. You can follow him on his Social Media accounts in the links below.

Related Articles

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

Back to top button